Governor Scott Declares State of Emergency

State of Emergency declared for Tropical Storm Nine

LAKE COUNTY –  Governor Rick Scott declared a State of Emergency Wednesday morning for 42 counties throughout central Florida, including Lake County, in preparation for the tropical depression that is expected to hit Florida throughout the next few days. The depression is currently building strength over the Gulf and is expected to form into a tropical storm.

“By declaring a state of emergency in advance of this storm, we are ensuring that state, regional and local agencies can work together to meet the needs of our communities,” Governor Scott said. “We will continue to do all we can to keep our families and visitors safe and informed as this storm approaches our state. It is crucial that every Floridian has a plan in place to ensure their families, homes and businesses are fully prepared,” he also stated.

Weather experts are predicting anywhere from 2-5 inches of rain throughout central Florida through Friday, with more accumulation possible in certain local areas, and high gusts of wind. There is also a possibility of tornadoes from now until Friday, so experts are advising residents to be prepared. “East-Central Florida impacts are currently forecasted to be heavy rainfall of three to seven inches through Thursday with rainy, squally weather and a chance for isolated tornadoes,” said Tommy Carpenter, Manager of Lake County Emergency Management.


The following counties are all affected by the State of Emergency declaration:

Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Brevard, Calhoun, Citrus, Clay, Columbia, Dixie, Duval, Flagler, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Gulf, Hamilton, Hernando, Hillsborough, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Madison, Marion, Nassau, Orange, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Seminole, St. Johns, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Volusia and Wakulla.

Osceola County is the only county in central Florida that was not included in the declaration.

All central Florida counties are offering free sandbags for residents who want to be prepared for possible flooding. There are four different fire stations that you may pick up sandbags in Lake County from 8am until 8pm. Each household is allowed up to 20 bags of sand, and you must bring your own shovel. You may pick up at the following locations:
[su_row][su_column size=”1/4″]
Fire Station 10
23023 State Road 40
Get Directions
[/su_column] [su_column size=”1/4″]
Fire Station 14
42700 State Road 19
Get Directions
[/su_column] [su_column size=”1/4″]
Fire Station 53
2505 Spring Lake Road
Fruitland Park
Get Directions
[/su_column] [su_column size=”1/4″]
Fire Station 110
6234 County Road 561
Get Directions

For all other counties’ pickup locations,  please contact your local emergency management office.