LSSC Announces 2018 Distinguished Alumni & Hall of Fame Award Winners

Lake Sumter State College announces the winners of the 2018 Distinguished Alumni and Hall of Fame awards.

LEESBURG. — Lake-Sumter State College and the Lake-Sumter State College Foundation have announced the 2018 Distinguished Alumni and Hall of Fame Award Winners.

The winners of the award will be announced at the Distinguished Alumni & Hall of Fame Awards Ceremony on Thursday, October 18.

“Lake-Sumter State College has over 25,000 alumni and friends who are doing great work and making positive impacts in our community and beyond,” says Dr. Laura Byrd, AVP of Institutional Advancement and Executive Director of the LSSC Foundation.


Dr. Boyd went on to say, “I want to congratulate each recipient for their well-deserved recognition and look forward to celebrating them at the Awards Ceremony on October 18.”

The winners for the Distinguished Alumni Awards are David Jordan, Tracey Belton, Ken Carpenter, Jerry Smith, Karen, Golucci, and Grant Gannaway. The awards being presented are Heart of a Volunteer, Community Engagement, Professional Achievement, Valor, Scholar, and Graduate of the Last Decade (GOLD), respectively.

The winners for the Hall of Fames Awards are Sybil Brown, Claudia Morris, Emily Lee, and the Huether Family. The awards being presented are Faculty, Staff, Trustee, and Athletics, respectively.

The event is at Mission Inn Resort and Club. The address is 10400 Country Road 48, Howey-in-The-Hills, FL 34737. Tickets are available by contacting the LSSC Foundation at (352) 365-3518 or